Ten Things You Should Know about Chocolate, Particularly if You are the Mother of a Teenager

Chocolate!  Enough said…almost.  I’m not a huge fan of regular (if there is such a thing) chocolate, but I do like dark chocolate.  I happened across a post that describes “10 facts about chocolate” (found at Info Barrel).  I’ve listed their ten facts and found at least a couple of facts somewhat surprising.  I’ve also added some commentary for no apparent reason:

  1. It is a known fact that chocolate has caffeine in it. But did you know that you would have to eat more then a dozen chocolate bars to get the same amount of caffeine from a cup of coffee? There are about 5 to 10 mg’s of caffeine in one ounce of bitter chocolate, 5 mgs in milk chocolate, and 10mgs in a six-ounce cup of cocoa.  So, when a police officer eats a chocolate donut while drinking coffee, will the total caffeine content have any effect on her/his aim if they find it necessary to shoot at someone?  This might make an interesting study (if it hasn’t already been done).
  2. Chocolate is actually a valuable energy source. A single chocolate chip can provide enough energy for an adult human to walk 150 ft.  I might walk 150 feet for a chocolate chip cookie.  It’s good to know I would have the energy to return to the sofa.
  3. Chocolate has great health benefits. It helps with depression, high blood pressure, Tumors and Pre-menstrual syndromes.  Helps how?  Does it enhance or diminish these conditions?  I’m hiding the chocolate in our home if it enhances PMS.
  4. Chocolate does not cause or aggravate acne, this is a myth.  This information is about 30 years late to be of any benefit to me (thanks, mom).
  5. One ounce of baking chocolate or cocoa contains 10% of the daily recommended intake of iron.  Which is why one should consume at least 10 ounces per day – 11 should be even better.
  6. Chocolate can be deadly for dogs. Chocolate contains an ingredient called “Theobromine” which can be toxic to a dogs central nervous system and cardiac muscles.  And for female dogs it enhances PMS.
  7. People spend more than $7 billion dollars a year on chocolate.  If the people of the world will set aside their chocolate consumption for only 100 years, together we can bail out the American economic system and set the world right again.  Of course, we would run the risk of becoming depressed, pre-menstrual individuals who suffer from high blood pressure and tumors – Hey!  That sounds like today’s Wallstreet.
  8. The per capita consumption of chocolate indicates that each person consumes 12 pounds of chocolate each year.  Chocolate must also inhibit weight gain, because my weight doesn’t increase by 12 pounds per year… it’s more like 8 or maybe 10…
  9. Milk Chocolate is the most preferred type of chocolate, however dark chocolate is especially popular among men.  It’s good to know I hang with the “in” crowd.  I love dark chocolate – I must just ooze testosterone.
  10. In Alfred Hitchcock’s movie “Psycho” chocolate syrup was used to indicate blood in the famous shower scene.  I had heard this.  Apparently chocolate films better (as blood) in black and white than anything else Hitchcock tried… plus he was able to use the leftover chocolate on his ice cream (ok, I made up the part about Hitchcock’s ice cream).
Pretend this is dark chocolate...

Pretend this is dark chocolate...

Enjoy!

13 responses to “Ten Things You Should Know about Chocolate, Particularly if You are the Mother of a Teenager

  1. Don one more after I get over the fact that its “$7 billion dollars a year on chocolate” that is 4 Times market capitalization of my company.

    Ya here we go If your wife / Gf etc.. is angry, give them a piece of Chocolate (this obvious is a romantic gesture and very few people say no to chocolate ), wait for 5 mins and then explain. There are chemicals in chocolate which reduces all the other chemical which make people angry :) you can thank me later.

    My wife is a big fan of chocolate, so that does work at times. She also like to drink Coca Cola, so I can bring one of those home now and again for the same effect.
    Seven Billion a year on chocolate – insane.

  2. I’m not much for sweets. I mean, given the choice between french fries and a piece of cake, I’d always go for the fries.

    BUT, I do love chocolate. Good chocolate. Dark chocolate.

    I wonder, if we spend $7 billion a year on chocolate, why aren’t there more happy people?

    I read somewhere that for women, chocolate triggers a chemical in our brains that make us feel like we are in love…and so, for women, chocolate is not only about the sweetness, but the way it makes us feel. Interesting, no?

    Maybe you should dip your fries in chocolate… mental note: must buy my wife some chocolate today.

  3. God, this is so funny, especially #2 and #7! I wonder how chocolate affects a pms-ing policegal? BTW–I eat m&m’s every day. It’s a terrible addiction and I do suffer from debilitating withdrawl symptoms if I don’t receive my daily dose.

    I wonder if the candy coating on M&M’s diminishes the effect (either way) on depression, tumors, PMS, blood pressure, energy, weight gain, a police officer’s aim, mythical acne, and/or doggie deaths?
    It is something to consider.

  4. I drooled the whole way through reading this… hmmm yum YUM chocolate!

    I wondered why the ink on this post had run. I also noticed the chunk missing from my chocolate bar.

  5. Alfred Hitchcock was indeed very fond of ice cream. When he was in Scotts Valley, he regularly stopped by Marianne’s ice cream parlor at 1020 Ocean Street in Santa Cruz for ice cream. Marianne’s makes their own and have some terrific flavors.

    Thanks. I’ve been to the Boardwalk, but not to Marianne’s. I’ll plan on it on our next trip. Thanks for the tip.

  6. Mmmm. You had me at chocolate. I made the switch to dark chocolate a few years ago because of the health benefits (yes, that’s right) and now it’s all we have in the house. Of course, dark chocolate also gives my husband migraines, so I also have the whole stash to myself!

    Dark chocolate is about the only kind of chocolate I really like – I even prefer the dark chocolate M&Ms. I went to Ghirardelli’s in San Fran this summer and tried 72%, but didn’t really like that. 60% is about as dark as I liked. I also only like black (licorice) jelly beans. Weird, huh?

  7. I have seen chocolate covered potato chips. I didn’t try them though…and I’ve always regretted it.
    :(

    stacybuckeye: You are kind of evil. I LOVE it!

    Here you go: http://www.candywarehouse.com/cocoachips.html

  8. I’m a dark chocolate gal, myself. I prefer it above all the others, but I will not turn down milk chocolate, or semi-sweet! (yes, I do know my chocolates!) As for #3, I firmly believe in it’s medicinal qualities. I believe chocolate can be a great cure-all. That said, I probably account for a good portion of the $7 billion spent each year! :o) Plus, I love Hershey’s Special Dark mini-candy bars, and I’m with you – love the Dark Chocolate M & M’s!!!!

    I like the little candy bars too.

  9. Pingback: Pages tagged "chocolate"

  10. God, this is so brilliant…. great post Don! One of my favorites!

    Don’t tell Sanity Found or she will figure out a way to steal the candy bar.

  11. Pingback: Saturday’s Me and You 10/4 « An unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  12. Thanks for the Information

    Thanks for the visit and comment.

  13. Pingback: Saturday’s Me and You 10/4 « an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

Leave a Reply

