Rules for Writing Wicked Good Papers

Writing seems to be a minor theme this week.  I found these wicked good rules at the Union College site.  They were posted by the Biology Department.  I hope they will help:

  1. Shun and avoid the employment of unnecessary, excess extra words.
  2. Make certain all sentences are full and complete. If possible.
  3. Avoid cliches like the plague.
  4. Take pain’s to spell and, punctuate correctly.
  5. BE Consistent.
  6. Don’t approximate. Always be more or less precise.
  7. Sedulously eschew obfuscatory hyperverbosity or prolixity.
  8. Avoid pointless repetition, and don’t repeat yourself unnecessarily.
  9. Always try to remembr t he/E extreme importance of being accurit; ne at, and carfful.
  10. Don’t use no double negatives.
  11. Don’t never use no triple negatives.
  12. All generalizations are bad.
  13. Take care that your verb and subject is in agreement.
  14. A preposition is a bad thing to end a sentence with.
  15. Don’t use commas, which aren’t necessary.
  16. “Avoid overuse of ‘quotation’ marks.”
  17. Writing carefully, dangling participles must be avoided.
  18. And don’t start a sentence with a conjunction.
  19. Reserve the apostrophe for it’s proper use and omit it when its not necessary.
  20. Avoid run-on sentences they are hard to read.
  21. Proofread carefully to see if you any words out.
  22. Never use that totally cool, radically groovy out-of-date slang.
  23. Avoid those long sentences that just go on, and on, they never stop, they just keep rambling, and you really wish the person would just shut up, but no, they just keep on going, they’re worse than the Energizer Bunny, they babble incessantly, and these sentences, they just never stop.

Good writing!

11 responses to “Rules for Writing Wicked Good Papers

  1. Thanks Don, Just finished writing my thesis, and frank to had to Sedulously eschew hyperverbosity. Otherwise they would have asked a lot of questions. It was either them or me I chose latter.

    Good call. What’s the title of your thesis?

  2. Hey, I duz the bestest I can with whut I learnt.

    You doin’ gud. Keep ‘ritin’.

  3. lol…. sooo funny! I need to get hayden to read this one…

    You are persuasive and work quickly – she has already commented.

  4. Thank’s for them, tips I will have used them all day long or not.

    I think yo’ure’ funny, because, “funny,” is what you are.

  5. “Make certain all sentences are full and complete. If possible.”

    HAHAHAHAHAHAHA! Love it.

    I think. It’s funny. Too!

  6. I don’t never use no triple negatives, and I always eschew hyperverbosity and prolixity ’cause I jest ain’t smart enuf to use dem highfalutin’ werds!

    This was great fun!

    Gud/ two “know.” Thancks. fer playin’.

  7. Well, I’m horrible at grammar. I wish I was better…but I’ve just never gotten the hang of it. I always made A’s in grammar, but it’s only because I’d retain the info just long enough to get through the class.

    I want to write like I talk, so I overuse commas…and the dot, dot, dots are my favorite. I know my sentence structure sucks. Blah. Oh, well. What’s a girl to do?

    Sometimes when I read old posts I’ve written, I catch all kinds of typos, misspellings, etc. It’s rather embarrassing!

    I kind of think of blogs as a “dear diary” that is public. So, (like my comma use?) I think one should write as one speaks (how’s that for formal?). And, (a rule breaker) I like the … too!

  8. Title of my thesis is “Nanotechnology – Markets Potentials and Opportunities”

    That should position you well as an expert in your field. I’m assuming the market opportunities have changed with the world’s economy over the past few weeks.

  9. You nailed it :) , however they didn’t get a chance to screw up the Nanotechnology market yet. As most of the market is still on paper and R&D Lab.

    Just curious. It seems the world is upside down and tumbling lately.

  10. This is brilliant! I really like this site, and I posted a link to it on my blog. If you would like the link (or the post) removed, just let me know, and I will be happy (well, not HAPPY, but willing) to oblidge. Thanks for your awesome posts!

    How kind are you? I ran over to check your blog – it’s great. Keep writing!

  11. Pingback: Sentenceworks Blog

Leave a Reply

