Hello world!

I am new to blogging, but think I will give it a try.

Many years ago (too many years ago), when I turned 30, I was staggered by how old I had become while allowing myself to just kind of wander through the life I had been given.  As a result, I spent several days creating a list of the things I wanted to accomplish with the rest of my life.  These became my “bucket list” twenty years before I ever heard that descriptor.  I stopped my list at fifty items and set about accomplishing as many items as possible – but not necessarily with a single-minded purpose to do so.

I’m not entirely sure why others blog, but my goals with this are simple: I want to put some of my thoughts and experiences in writing, share them with you (since you are reading this), and encourage you to pursue your own goals – no matter how unreachable they may seem.

Let’s see how it goes…

 

2 responses to “Hello world!

  1. Welcome to blogging! Interesting question about why people blog…I blog because I have a lot of things I want to express and enjoy discussing different topics with folks. Granted, blogging isn’t the best way to *discuss*…it can be rather one sided, but I like seeing what sparks discussion. Also, I like to mention weird things and I think I have more of an audience than I do at home (my husband is a captive audience, but there’s more than one person who reads my blog. Even if it’s only two, there’s more people for me to talk to!).

    Perhaps I miss high school English class where the teacher would broach a topic from the book we were reading and the class would discuss it. I usually had something to say and really enjoyed bouncing ideas around.

    Anyway, I think that’s enough of my ramblings. 🙂

    I guess you’ve found the best way to get people to check out your blog: go read other blogs and comment! Most bloggers love checking out a new blog. We’ve all been there and are very supportive! Let me know if you have questions about anything…I’m always happy to help. 🙂

  2. Thanks for your comment, Trish, you are my first. I didn’t really have a strategy in mind to obtain comments, I just found your blog and liked what I read.

Leave a Reply

