My First Computer and Little Mac

My first computer was a TI-99-4A.  Do you remember those?  I have no idea who chose to name it – maybe Ross Perot?

This may be an indicator of how old I am – I remember this little personal computer being an upgrade from the old movie “The Computer Wore Tennis Shoes” – where the computer took up the whole basement of a college building.  This little beauty (made by Texas Instruments) had a “memory” that was unique – it looked like an old tape recorded that you might have used in school back in the 60s.  Mine used metal cassettes and you had to fast forward and rewind to find your work.

I eventually “graduated” to an Apple II…

…then on to an Apple IIe…

…and into what became the Mac Classic…

How powerful.

I eventually moved over with the other 95% of the world (I’m no trendsetter) to a PC, and have gone through a variety of desktop and notebook computers.  I still miss my little Mac – I think I paid about $2,500 for the computer and printer back in about 1986 (or so).  Al Gore was still trying to invent the Internet back then.  If I had kept “little Mac” and the printer, I might be able to get about $5 for them (from a museum… maybe).  I ended up donating all my Macs to various schools – they were thrilled (at the time) to receive them. 

I do wonder, at times, if they are still in use… somewhere.

2 responses to “My First Computer and Little Mac

  1. Thanks for dropping by my blog. 🙂
    I got my first Mac, a Mac Classic, when I went away to college and have owned a succession of them since then. they’ve just gotten better with time! 🙂

  2. I loved my Macs, but when I became an educator I found that the schools and districts in which I worked were pretty exclusive about PCs. Rather than fight – I switched (it helped that Microsoft had created Windows by then). My nephews utilize Macs and love them – of course they create music videos, so they need a Mac.

Leave a Reply

