On My Way to San Francisco

My son and I take a trip each summer to San Francisco to watch our beloved Giants get beat (generally by the Dodgers), this time by the Brewers.  In the past, he and I have been able to visit Alcatraz, the Ripley’s Believe It Or Not Museum (really odd), Fisherman’s Wharf, Pier 39, the Cable Cars, Giradelli Square, Lombard Street, the Golden Gate Bridge, and other sites.  This time we are focused on finding a particular restaurant we have heard about, The House of Nanking.

My son is 12, still talks to me, believes I’m funny (my 10 year old daughter has already lost interest in the things I find funny), and actually wants to hang out with me.  I’m seeing him continue to take to the things I like (for example – Chinese food and reading – two of the greatest pleasures one could possibly pursue).  I’m sobered by the fact that I hear him saying and doing things that I say and do.  It is a constant reminder that I still have the ability to influence his behaviors and relationships – what a wonderfully frightening realization and responsibility.

Anyway, a weekend in San Francisco watching my favorite sport and team and enjoying the company of my son.  It really doesn’t get much better than this.  See you Monday!

Giant's Crab Bobblehead - the giveaway at the Friday game.

Giant's Crab Bobblehead - the giveaway at the Friday game.

3 responses to “On My Way to San Francisco

  1. I love baseball, too. And, being from Michigan, I’m well aware of how it feels to cheer for the losing team. When Justin Verlander pitched his no hitter last year, I had to write a post it. Here’s the link if you are interested.

  2. Time spent with one’s children will always be considered “A Perfect Day”.

  3. Hi Literate Housewife – Detroit was supposed to be great this year (I feel your pain – if Detroit played in our division, they would be in first). Justin Verlander is one of the pitchers on my fantasy baseball team – he had a great outing today. Thanks for the link to your post on Verlander – I remember Jack Morris and his perfect game back in ’84 (good times).

    Hi Call Center Guy – It really was a perfect day (actually weekend). It’s funny, when I was in my twenties I don’t think I would have thought a weekend spent with a 12 year old would have been this great, however, twenty years later, I can’t imagine time better spent.

    Thank you both for checking in on us.

Leave a Reply

