Things I Discovered on Vacation in Hawaii

We arrived home from Hawaii this morning and are exhausted.  Just to update (all of this will be random, since I haven’t slept in more than 24 hours and my body feels like it is shutting down)…

No matter how hard we try, we are just not beach people.

It probably wasn’t a good idea to watch the movie JAWS with my 10 and 12 year old kids just before going to Hawaii.

We all really enjoyed the Polynesian Cultural Center.

Red-eye flights live up to their name.

We were impressed by the Arizona Memorial.

There is not much swapping going on at the Honolulu Swap Meet (unless currency counts as a swap).

We enjoyed visiting the Hawaiian Art Museum, the DeRussy Military Museum, the Aquarium, the Hawaiian Palace, and the Mission House Museum (we may not be beach people, but apparently we are museum people).

We did have fun at the beach, but we still aren’t beach people.

Our United Airlines flight crew was top notch.

My son has a great sense of humor (I already knew it, but it is still fun to think about) and my daughter has a charming smile (and used it on me more than once) and both of my kids really do understand the value and power of money (both really wanted to make their own purchases with their own money rather than allow “the parents” to just buy them what they wanted – they even wanted to buy their own food several times, but we kept reminding them that food was “the parents'” responsibility).

We aren’t great at being tourists (we feel self-conscious when pampered) and we aren’t really beach people (have I mentioned this?).

Enough, everyone else is asleep – my turn.

5 responses to “Things I Discovered on Vacation in Hawaii

  1. I’m so glad you’re back! I was worrying about you. I didn’t realize that you were on vacation. It sounds like you saw a lot of things. Welcome back!

    You are so kind. Thanks for thinking about us, although I’m sorry to have caused you worry. We did have a great time. Thanks!

  2. Welcome back. It sounds like you had a wonderful and busy vacation. My husband and I aren’t beach people either, but Hawaii still sounds a little like paradise. And it sounds like you have great kids!

    Thanks! We did have a great time. There is a great deal to do in Hawaii that doesn’t require actually getting in the water or laying in sand. I will admit that one of the nicest evenings we spent was walking along the beach at sundown and coming across a free hula show outside one of the large resorts (at least we were assuming free since no one came and ran us off). My kids are really fun to be around.

  3. i like pools. oceans? full of scary jellyfish and invisible critters… i’m ok on the beach, but the water is something entirely different! great exercise in “family awareness”, though!

    We like walking on the beach and looking at the water, but have apparently become “too civilized” to feel comfortable with sand in our shorts.

  4. I can’t believe you watched Jaws before a trip like that! Aahhh!! LOL!! I saw Jaws “way back when,” in the theater and was afraid of swimming pools!!! Yeesh!!

    I’m not really a tourist either. I don’t really care for traveling. I have to many “issues” but that’s another story. Glad you had a good time and all is well.

    We like some “touristy” stuff, but tend to forget we don’t like the process of traveling until we are already into the process of traveling. It does give us something to complain about, however, and it keeps us from complaining about each other – so maybe that’s a bonus.

  5. Pingback: — Global Travel Source

Leave a Reply

