Fifty Things about Me

I don’t normally do things like this, but I saw this on Chartroose’s blog (who took it from Jill) and thought I’d give it a go.  Let me know if we share any likes:

1. Do you like blue cheese? No.
2. Have you ever smoked a cigarette? Yes, but not in 30 years, and not with tobacco.
3. Do you own a gun? Yes, two shotguns (12 and 20 gauge) – I’m getting ready for my daughter’s teen years.
4. What flavor do you add to your drink at Sonic? Grape.
5. Do you get nervous before doctor appointments? No
6. Do you like hot-dogs? Yes, even though I know what’s in them.
7. Favorite Christmas Song? I’m Getting Nutin’ for Christmas.
8. What do you prefer to drink in the morning? Coffee.
9. Can you do push-ups? Yes, but don’t see the point of overdoing it.
10. What’s your favorite meal? Spinach Tortellini at Old Spaghetti Factory.
11. What’s your favorite piece of jewelry? My wedding ring.
12. Favorite hobby? Reading.
13. Do you work with people who idolize you? Hmmm, I’ll have to ask.
14. Name a trait that you hate about yourself? Cynicism.
16. Middle name? My Dad’s first name.
17. Name 3 thoughts at this moment: Why did I start this?, Who is going to care?, Tortellini…
18. Name 3 things you bought yesterday: Breakfast, Lunch, Gasoline.
19. Name 3 drinks you regularly drink? Coffee, water, Mountain Dew.
20. Current worry right now? My kid’s future.
21. Current hate right now? People who go under the speed limit in the commuter lane.
22. Favorite place to be? Home.
23. How did you bring in New Years? Watching my kids mess up the house with party poppers!
24. Favorite place to go? Museums.
25. What is your most recurring dream? I don’t remember dreams (if I have any).
26. Introvert or extrovert? Extrovert.
27. What color shirt are you wearing? Olive.
28. Do you like sleeping on satin sheets? No.
29. Can you whistle? Define can.
30. Favorite color(s)? Clear.
31. Would you be a pirate? Aarggh!
32. What songs do you sing in the shower? Typically, Beatles.
33. Favorite girl’s name? Dorcus or Spongetta.
34. Favorite boy’s name? Beauregard or Jethro.
35. What’s in your pocket right now? Air.
36. Last thing that made you laugh? A Thinking about what my favorite girl’s and boy’s names are and deciding to list something else (hey… don’t laugh at me, I don’t get out much).
37. Bed sheets as a child? Yes.
38. Worst injury you’ve ever had? Dislocated knee.
39. Do you love where you live? No.
40. How many tv’s are in your house? Three.
41. What is your worst habit? Too much time on the Internet.
42. How many dogs do you have? One.
43. Does someone have a crush on you? Hopefully, my wife.
45. What is your favorite book? A Prayer for Owen Meany by John Irving.
46. What is your favorite candy? Dark Chocolate.
47. What is your favorite sports team? The San Francisco Giants.
48. What song do you want played at your funeral? Wonderful World by Louis Armstrong.
49. What were you doing at 12 AM last night? Practicing my worst habit.
50. What was the first thing you thought of when you woke up this morning? Well… my wife had just stepped out of the shower…

6 responses to “Fifty Things about Me

  1. I would like to have Find the River played at my funeral, but I’m hoping that when I die I’ll hear the opening music to Where the Streets Have No Name. Being a Catholic, however, puts the kabash on either of those songs being a part of the ceremony. Maybe at the party afterwards.

    I’m just hoping my family doesn’t play Dancin’ in the Streets or something like it at my funeral.

  2. Nice, I don’t think I’ll be able to write fifty things about me!
    I guess I’ll give it a shot nonetheless!

    Wish me luck! 😀

    LUCK!

  3. That’s quite a list. We share an affinity for coffee, reading, hot dogs, home, too much internet time and we are both not lovin’ where we live (hey, I live in Cleveland!). I also see that we are both late nighters. At midnight I was trying to choose my next book.

    I almost took a job in Ohio once, but then thought about the possibility of snow and quickly declined.

  4. you can add flavors to soda? what is a ‘sonic’? i need to research this further! it must be a ‘west-coast’ thing. 🙂

    ps. i read all of your answers
    pps. i didn’t skim any of them!

    Hey, thanks for participating. Sonic (at least the one I know), is a kind of throwback to the 50’s drive-in – complete with carhops on skates. You can order slushes and such and choose what kind of flavors you want in them. We frequent them in Arizona and California, but I’m not sure how far their circle of influence might extend.

  5. Okay, here are my favorites:
    Color–clear (smartass)!
    Boys & Girls Names–do you remember Dorcus from “Seven Brides for Seven Brothers?” What is a Spongetta?
    My knee injury was worse than yours, ha!
    I forgot all about “…Owen Meany.” That’s a great book, athough it got a little too Jesus-freaky for me near the end.

    I’m adding you to my blogroll. Woot!

    My daughter gets mad at me when she hears me say that my favorite color is clear, but I tell her that it brings out all the other colors. So, if I’m actually required to list a color, I just say black – it contains all the other colors.
    I do remember Dorcus from Seven Brides (one of the local productions my wife and I are willing to go watch). I think I made up Spongetta. It came from one of our dogs – my wife wanted to name the dog and I didn’t want a stupid name, I wanted Dorcus. So, I told her she could choose between Dorcus, Fred, or Spongetta. She chose Fred. It was a female dog.
    I’ve had three knee surguries and I only have two knees (I’m a former basketball player).
    I love Owen Meany – he is one of the most unique figures in literature. I refused to watch the movie Simon Birch because I can’t imagine film doing justice to Owen.

    Thanks!

  6. Sonic is awesome!! Foot long chili dogs…tater tots…yumm…

    I like the Cherry Limeade.

    Good list! You seem relatively normal. Hee…

    It all depends on your definition of normal, but thanks.

Leave a Reply

