Make Each Day Memorable

I have been thinking about my life and was reminded of a quote by Charles Dickens in Great Expectations:

“Pause you who read this, and think for a moment of the long chain of iron or gold, of thorns or flowers, that would never have bound you, but for the formation of the first link on one memorable day.”

I try to be aware of the incredible series of choices I make each day and realize that to some extent I am bound to or by those choices – good or bad.  I try to make each day memorable.

4 responses to “Make Each Day Memorable

  1. Whoa. That is really strange. Great Expectations keeps coming up everywhere, with the “book bloggers” with whom I’m acquainted reading it right now as I am reading it– and now this!

    I literally just read that line last night…and it struck me as well, but I couldn’t quite put my finger on it. Thanks for helping me realize what made that such a memorable quote and how we should make each day memorable.

    For more on w hat I’m reading, and other reading related subjects, you might want to check out
    Just A (Reading) Fool. You might not want to do so either…but I thought I’d throw it out there.

    Thanks. I love the book. I actually have you on my blogroll. Thanks for commenting.

  2. Nothing better than a memorable day, I live for them. Unfortunatlely my memory is crap so unless it is cracker, I’ll forget it quickly… like what did I do yesterday, or Monday for that matter!

    Don dude, enjoyed the blog!

    Thanks for dropping by and commenting. As I get older, I’m just trying to make each day count for something and make it memorable either to me or to someone else. When I was a teacher and principal at a middle school I would have students ask me to sign their yearbooks. I would generally sign, “You’ve made this a memorable year.” As I walked away I would think (to myself), some memories are good and others are bad. Such is life.
    Again, thanks.

  3. Hi Don! As always, you’ve got me pondering about life again.

    Let’s see…what was memorable about today? It might be the three donuts I ate…they are still haunting me.

    Maybe it’s not too late to still do something memorable. I have 2 and 3/4 hours left in this day after all!

    The donuts might be some kind of link…

  4. That is a beautiful thought, thank you so much for sharing it!

    You are too kind. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

