What is Lake Titicaca? – It still makes me laugh.

My son (12 years old) took me to see the new Star Wars (Clone Wars) movie tonight.  We were actually supposed to see The Mummy, but he misread the newspaper and thought it started at 6:30pm instead of the actual 7:30pm.  So we settled on Star Wars at 6:50, bought our popcorn and cokes (I know, I’m supposed to stop drinking Coke – according to my New School Year Resolutions – but it’s not September 1 yet) and settled into an empty theater.

Since we had thirty minutes to kill and were in an empty theater, we thought nothing of sitting and talking.  We noticed the screen was looping through about six movie quotes, and after the third time through we started calling out the answers just before they were revealed.  I was reminded of a scene from my favorite movie, Groundhog Day, when Bill Murray is sitting in the B&B living room eating snacks and calling out the answers (actually, questions) during Jeopardy (“What is Lake Titicaca?” still cracks me up – Junior High potty humor still makes me laugh).  Anyway, my son seemed to like the movie.

I found it interesting that only four other people entered the theater to watch the movie with us – and they were all adults – until I realized that school started today (I guess good parents don’t take their kid to a movie on a school night), there was a baseball game going on across the way, and some other big event was going in another stadium down the street.

I guess there wasn’t that much to report.  We just had a great time together.  Again.  (He’s not a teenager, yet).

3 responses to “What is Lake Titicaca? – It still makes me laugh.

  1. I’ve been reading along for a while now. I just wanted to drop you a comment to say keep up the good work.

    Well, thanks. I’ll follow along with your reviews.

  2. This confirms my suspicions:

    I actually AM a 12-year old boy!

    I was concerned this might be true, considering I’m intensely amused by potty humor and the like…

    After laughing out loud, at just the title of your post…I’ve come to the conclusion that I am definitely a 12-year old boy stuck in the body of a 30 something woman.

    Welcome to my world. The conclusion we’ve come to in our home is that my wife was born 30 and I’ve never made it past 18.

  3. Ok – I wonder – if Miss Sister 2008 brought about traffic in search of “ewww” ….what will Lake Titicaca bring about???

    And I’m with the previous poster – after just reading the post title I giggled. Sigh…and I thought I left jr. high behind too!

    ~Tanya

    It appears that Lake Titicaca will bring plenty of 12 year-old (mentality) traffic. I guess that makes me the traffic cop.

Leave a Reply

