Deja Vu with a Twist (of Sons)

“Do you believe in Deja vu?” – Didn’t you just ask me that?”  This is one of my favorite exchanges from my favorite movie: Groundhog day.

I experienced deja vu with a slight twist last night.

My 12 year old son and I went to Magic Mountain (here in SoCal) for a private party (my university rents the park one night each year for current students, alumni, friends, and etc. to mix).  One of the good things about going each year is that it is cheap (our tickets were $25) and the lines are short – really short – as in non-existant (attendance is about a quarter of a normal operating day).  We not only did not wait in line, but following several rides we were asked if we wanted to ride again.

About two hours into the evening, while driving the bumper cars, I was overwhelmed with this sense of deja vu – with a twist. 

(As background) On my 13th birthday, my dad took me to Magic Mountain (about a month after it opened).  There were few rides and (it seemed) fewer people, so on several rides we were asked if we wanted to ride again.  The bumper cars were our favorite ride of the day.

(Back to last night) It hit me while I was chasing my son around in the bumper cars (same location since opening day) as I saw him glance back at me with an absolute look of joy on his face… and I saw me – more than 35 years before as my dad chased me around in the same bumper cars, laughing like mad.

How great is that?

Bumper Cars at Magic Mountain

Bumper Cars at Magic Mountain

Another Favorite Ride of My Dad, My Son, and Me.

Another Favorite Ride of My Dad, My Son, and Me.

5 responses to “Deja Vu with a Twist (of Sons)

  1. That is WAY cool! How fortunate for the both of you!

    Now in another twenty years maybe you, your son and your grandson can go. 🙂

    I’ll be so old by then… if I’m still around (my dad died when he was 58).

  2. That is a really, really cool story. I’m glad you shared it!

    The look on his face is my new favorite memory.

  3. So glad you and your son have that memory together! I love the look of joy on my kids! It’s the best thing in the world!

    It was just the strangest and at the same time most wonderful sense of deja vu. The primary thought I had was that this is what my dad was experiencing while we were there all those years ago – and I kind of knew what my son was feeling at the same time.

  4. Aw, that is really cool! And is it too much to hope that your son will one day have the same sense of deja vu? I wonder if the theme park will be the same in 20 years…

    It was almost sold a year or so ago. They were planning to tear it down and build homes. It turned out to be a good thing they didn’t, what with the housing market and all.

Leave a Reply

