Go Moldy with an Anti-Theft Lunch Bag!

If you are tired of having your sandwich stolen out of the office/shop/breakroom refrigerator (or for kids at school), this Anti-Theft Lunch Bag is for you.  It is a clear, reclosable, plastic bag that features green splotches as a design that makes your sandwich appear moldy. 

Now, why didn’t I think of that? Well, New York based designer (and self-described nerd) Sherwood Forlee did:

13 responses to “Go Moldy with an Anti-Theft Lunch Bag!

  1. that is awesome! true story- when i was in high school, my lunch got stolen out of locker several times. one day, i decided was fed up with it, so i actually left a mock lunch in the locker- complete with an actual moldy sandwich. it worked, too, never had my lunch stolen again. although, i think this would be much easier and less repulsive!

    …and edible. Thanks for the visit and story.

  2. That’s a great idea. My strategy has always been to have food that no one else wants to eat; fluffernutters, sandwiches heavy on horseradish, sandwiches which are more vegetable than anything else, or just plain old ugly looking sandwiches. Fortunately I’m not very good at making pretty sandwiches, even if I’m trying.

    On the other hand, I’m the type of person who will take food I think has been forgotten about or abandoned from… anywhere really. Once I found a muffin sitting on top of a trash can after leaving the gym and, after a cursory inspection, took a bite. As it turned out it was one of Starbuck’s new muffins which have a unique, and to me displeasing, taste. So I ended up throwing most of it away anyhow.

    OK, now I have to know: What is a flufflernutter?

  3. ROFL I really did laugh out loud!

    Me too. I heard about the bags on the radio yesterday and felt a compulsion to look it up.

  4. Man, I wish I thought of those. Another cool invention that will probably net the guy who made it millions.

    By the way, a fluffernutter is a peanut butter and marshmallow fluff sandwich. I had no idea what they were until we lived in KC a few years ago. All of the other moms in my playgroup were completely stunned that a 30something year old woman had never heard of a fluffernutter let alone eaten one! I have yet to try one…maybe we should have you guys over and I’ll make some up and we can try them together!! :o)

    I like peanut butter, but the marshmallow fluff has me concerned. Thanks for the info on fluffernutter – it is news to me.

  5. Oooh! Fluffernutter? I would totally steal that. And the heavy horseradish one too.

    A fluffernutter in my neck of the woods is a peanut butter and marshmallow fluff sandwich. It’s like crack. I can’t have the stuff in my house b/c I will eat 14 sandwiches in two days. (And I’ll experiment, adding strawberry jam and/or bananas).

    Brilliant idea on the baggy!

    How fluffernutterly sheltered is my life? I’ve not only never heard of such a thing, I’m stunned that I may be the only American that hasn’t heard of it.
    “Like crack”…? Are you cooking your own?

  6. If by “cooking” you mean spreading pb and fluff on slices of bread, then yes.

    Don’t be afraid of the marshmallow fluff. It’s divine.

    You are funny.

  7. There ya go…. great idea! I hope the guys makes millions! Those lunch stealers should be ashamed of themselves! 🙂

    I wonder if there is something like this for cars – to make them less attractive when parked so they don’t get stolen.

  8. Can you do that?

    This is all amazing news to me. Thanks for joining in.

  9. Okay, this is not something I want to see before I go and eat my turkey sandwich for lunch… 😉

    But the idea is that you WILL get to see your turkey sandwich at lunch…

  10. Your reaction is exactly why the fluffernutter is an effective sandwich choice. If you’ve never had one before, you look at it and wonder what it could be- did someone bring their kid’s science project to work? But no, it’s just a little bundle of deliciousness.

    Now, they’re not precisely the best thing for you. Peanut Butter, though high in protein, is also very high in fat. The marshmallow fluff has either no, or next to no, fat, but has nothing else either. Just a few simple carbohydrates. And then there’s the bread, which is generally healthful.

    That marshmallow fluff is my hang-up. I keep picturing people feasting on the Stay Puffed Marshmallow Man from the end of the Ghostbusters movie. It just smacks of some kind of supernatural cannibalism. So, yes, I’d agree that it would be an effective deterrent to lunch stealing.

  11. Great plan! And i can even make it at home!

    Fluffernutter? YOU BET! Drizzle some dark chocolate on it, and it’s dreamy… mmmm… lunch…

    I have been so sheltered…

  12. That sandwich looks lightly toasted. Yum!

    I thought marshmallow creme (which I assume is the “fluff”) was meant to be eaten out of the jar with a spoon…

    Where have I been?

  13. Pingback: Weekly Fruit Salad - αριθμό δεκαέξι « SanityFound’s Rambling’s

Leave a Reply

