I’m a Winner!

“I’ve never won anything in my life.”  Until today, that is.

I should elaborate…

I have won awards (for things like sports, academics, or work performance stuff – things I have some control over), but when it comes to contests or games of chance – nothing.  I do enter contests now and again, but never with the expectation of winning a prize – and I’ve always met my expectations.

In fact, the closest I’ve ever come to winning anything was way back in high school.  My mom took me to the horse races one day and I gave her two dollars (it was back in the 70’s) to make a bet for me.  I won – well, not really.  On her way to the window, she decided that the horse I chose wouldn’t win and changed the bet for me.  So even the ONE time I (should have) won… I lost.

Until today.

I went to an office supply expo (not nearly as exciting as it sounds) this morning with our office manager.  All the big names in office supplies were there (look at your notepads, pens, file folders, etc. and whatever manufacturer’s name you find – if American – they were there) showing their newest products and giving away stuff.  They also had a drawing.  As we registered, we were asked for our business cards.  I handed one over and made the statement that opened this post.  About thirty minutes later, they held their first drawing of the day and (hand over my heart) they chose my card.  I won a $25 gas card (a big deal to a commuter).  I realize that this isn’t a big deal to most people, but I’VE NEVER WON A CONTEST BEFORE!

Now I can’t decide whether to use the card or frame it (it is the first prize I’ve ever won, after all).

5 responses to “I’m a Winner!

  1. Congrats! This is a momentous occasion! I’d say take a picture of the card and frame that. But, use the gift card for gas!! What is that? 5 gallons??

    Yay for you!

    Thanks. According to today’s gas price ($3.79), it is 6.6 gallons (or about 1/3 of a tank) – or about one of my normal days of driving.

  2. Congrats! Sounds like you won the perfect gift for you.
    Your mom should have covered your bet 🙂

    Thanks.
    $300 – in the middle 70’s, it wasn’t going to happen.

  3. Congratulations!!!!! A gas card in this day and age is like gold, isn’t it? Now I have a question for you… After you use the card, will you keep it forever as a memento, or will you pitch it in the trash? I need to know how much you are like me.

    Speaking of cards, I received one in the mail yesterday that made my day, too. It was COMPLETELY unexpected and unnecessary, but it will be used happily and thankfully. 😉

    I am so unsentimental, yet it will be a memento.

  4. Yay! How cool! I never used to win anything…especially where raffles were concerened. Or if I did win, it was a donated item that I could never use.

    Lately, I’ve been entering contests on blogs, and surprisingly…I’ve won some things. Actually pretty cool things, too. It’s my latest hobby! I just won a “skin” for my DS (yes, I have my own…I love Brain Age!)

    Congratulations on your winning streak!

  5. Oooooo a belated CONGRATS!!!

    …a delayed thank you.

Leave a Reply

