Five For Friday – Favorite Songs from Favorite Albums

Five songs from five of my favorite albums for your weekend listening pleasure:

Sgt. Pepper’s by The Beatles (A Day In The Life – one of my favorite songs)

Louis Armstrong: The Ultimate Collection by Louis Armstrong (Wonderful World – The song I want played at my funeral – hopefully a long time away)

Justice by Steve Camp (Do You Feel Their Pain? – haunting)

Brain Salad Surgery by Emerson, Lake and Palmer (Karn Evil 9 First Impression part 2 – hang in for the greatest drum solo ever – Carl Palmer playing)

She’s So Unusual by Cyndi Lauper (Time After Time – you can’t get any more 80’s than this)

4 responses to “Five For Friday – Favorite Songs from Favorite Albums

  1. You know, one of my favorite movies is “Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band”. It’s so weird. I loved it when I was a kid and have it on DVD now. Like I said…weird.

    Anyhow…I ramble. I love that Beatles song…And the Louis Armstrong always makes me cry.

    🙂

    Oddly, I’ve never seen the movie. The whole end of the 70’s Disco thing the Bee Gee’s were swept up in just turned me off to ever having an interest in seeing them in anything. Someone else (long ago) told me it was a good film, but still… The Bee Gee’s…hmmm…

  2. Thanks for the flashback to the 80’s. Performances have come a long way since then.
    Wonderful World is a perfect song and I hope the playing at your funeral is still many, many (should I put more in? I think you get the idea) decades away 🙂

    I know… all my favorite songs and albums are from decades ago – I’m old.

  3. What an interesting cross-section! From The Beatles to Cyndi Lauper! I love it!

    I had no idea that Emerson, Lake and Palmer sang that song. It’s one of those I’ve heard it a lot but had never listened to the whole song through (insane drum solo!). I also thought that a group like The Who or some other such group did it!

    As for Louis Armstrong, I think that is such a great song.

    ELP is a great band that didn’t seem to get much mainstream airplay. You’d likely recognize some other songs, like Lucky Man or Still…You Turn Me On. Brain Salad Surgery is an awesome album.

  4. Time after Time is my favorite of hers. I love the story and I can still vividly remember the video. I’m such a child of the 80s….

    She’s so Unusual…
    I also like True Colors (where she plays some kind of harp).

Leave a Reply

