The Top 15 Karaoke Songs (2008)

I happened across the top 40 Karaoke songs on the top 40 Karaoke music chart by EZ Tracks.  It’s not surprising (yet, still mildly disturbing) that Michael Jackson holds two of the top ten spots. 

I am speechless about a Kenny G song making this karaoke list because, having only heard a Kenny G song on the radio when I was not quick enough to change the station, I don’t remember his songs having lyrics.

I’ve linked each song to a YouTube video that had lyrics (if available).  If you’ve ever seen Wayne’s World (or maybe even if you haven’t), you will find yourself turned into a head banger at about the 4:08 point in Bohemian Rhapsody…

Here are the top 15 (of 40) for 2008:

  1. Thriller by Michael Jackson
  2. Dancing Queen by Abba
  3. My Heart Will Go On by Celine Dion
  4. Eye of the Tiger by Survivor
  5. Livin’ on a Prayer by Bon Jovi
  6. Barbie Girl by Aqua
  7. Boulevard of Broken Dreams by Green Day
  8. Beat It by Michael Jackson
  9. Addicted by Enrique Iglesias
  10. Forever in Love by Kenny G
  11. I Will Survive by Gloria Gaynor
  12. Hero by Enrique Iglesias
  13. What a Wonderful World by Louis Armstrong
  14. Summer of ’69 by Bryan Adams
  15. Bohemian Rhapsody by Queen

Enjoy!

10 responses to “The Top 15 Karaoke Songs (2008)

  1. Pingback: MyStreamcast » Blog Archive » The Top 15 Karaoke Songs (2008)

  2. Michael is king! Check out my site: http://hardee7.wordpress.com/

    And I’m guessing Queen is… Queen!
    Thanks for the visit and comment, I’ll stop by.

  3. # What a Wonderful World by Louis Armstrong

  4. Just love What a Wonderful World by Louis Armstrong , let me share my experience of karoke tomorrow, that is if I am not thrown out of my rented home.

    I was happy to see it in the top 15.

  5. The Summer of ’69? Really? I love that song. Don’t get me wrong. I just don’t necessarily see it as the stuff of karaoke. Heaven, maybe. I completely agree with each and every MJ song on that list. I love the entire Thriller album. It takes me back to the 7th grade.

    I realized last night that my kids hadn’t seen the Thriller video. My son was doing homework, but I had my daughter come and watch it on YouTube with me. At the end, she turned to me and said, “how did he get famous?” I thought it was funny – and think it’s a great video.

  6. i’m guessing in these parts “Wanted Dead or Alive” would be number one… it’s a gnarly, singable song for even those who can’t sing. And is done at virtually every karaoke event i’ve been to… [shudder]

    It made it to #21. I was surprised Freebird isn’t on the list.

  7. Hmmm…what about “Delta Dawn”?? I love when people sing that at Karaoke b/c it’s such a horrible song!!

    We always sing no matter what, “Summer Lovin” from Grease. We have boys and girls on stage for both parts. It’s fun!

    What’s that flower you have on? Could it be a faded rose from days gone by?

  8. Livin’ on a Prayer is so much fun to sing karaoke. I remember once I got really carried away and would grab a different person’s hand every time that line of the refrain came around

    “…we’ll make it, I swear…”

  9. Don, I am homeless now 😉 indecently my house owner doesn’t like drunk people singing loudly at 4 AM, in English. Ha ha ha, He came to the third floor to check if everything is fine, I told him this is because of Don…..you should have seen the look on his face.

    It’s good to know I’m influential, but sorry my influence had a negative effect.

  10. David is a HUGE Queen fan, so of course, when Wayne’s World comes on we have to watch it. I have vivid memories of David and I in his truck on the way to San Diego. We were listening to Queen and BH comes on. As soon as it got to the headbanger part, both of us let loose! (I know – the visual!) Anyway, all that to say, if you’ve seen WW, I don’t think you can ever listen to BH and not think of that part!!! :o)

    I’ve never sang/sung? karoke. I’ve obviously lived a very sheltered life! But I do love most of the songs on the list.

    You and David as headbangers… Well. Did you do the horns with your fingers too?

Leave a Reply

