Start Wearing Purple – Gogol Bordello

Gogol Bordello is a multi-ethnic band that has been around for a decade – I just discovered them.  This is pretty much how my life works… I catch on about 10 years late (you may have already heard of them and perhaps I’m the last one on the planet to catch on).

I like odd things and I like odd music.  I find bands who utilize bagpipes (like Seven Nations) or a fiddle and accordian (like Gogol Bordello) fascinating.

See if you agree:

The music of Gogol Bordello is self-described as Gypsy Punk and Start Wearing Purple is a good example of their music (although they have several newer songs).  When I first heard the song, I was curious about the meaning.  It’s hard to get a straight story from lead singer Eugene Hütz, but the song seems to be about growing old together.  One person on SongMeanings mentioned an (unattributed) interview in which Hütz stated, “When I first moved to New York in ’98 I had this, kind of obsessive, crazy psychic gypsy lady who was living right next to us, in our building. And you know how it is some people have this fixation with a certain colour, and purple is one of those colours, and that is the whole archetype of these ladies, she was wearing everything: shoes, stockings, handkerchief, skirt, coat, everything, purple shades she was crazy. And one of my girlfriends, she was getting crazy, getting out of hand I was saying ‘you might as well start wearing purple now, because that’s exactly what’s gonna happen to you’.”

The Lyrics (and some commentary) at SongMeanings:

Start wearing purple, wearing purple
Start wearing purple for me now
All your sanity and wits, they will all vanish
I promise, it’s just a matter of time

So yeah, start wearing purple, wearing purple
Start wearing purple for me now
All your sanity and wits, they will all vanish
I promise, it’s just a matter of time

I met you were a twenty and I was twenty
But thought that some years from now
A purple little little lady will be perfect
For dirty old and useless clown

So yeah, start wearing purple, wearing purple
Start wearing purple for me now
All your sanity and wits, they will all vanish
I promise, it’s just a matter of time

I know it all from Diogenis to Foucault
From Lozgechkin to Paspartu
I ja kljanus obostzav dva paltza
Schto muzika poshla ot Zvukov Mu!

So yeah, start wearing purple, wearing purple
Start wearing purple for me now

Start wearing purple for me now!

All your sanity and wits, they will all vanish
I promise, it’s just a matter of time

So Fio-Fio-Fioletta! Etta! Va-va-va-vaja dama ti moja!
Eh podayte name karetu, votetu, i mi poedem k ebenjam!

So yeah, start wearing purple, wearing purple
Start wearing purple for me now
All your sanity and wits, they will all vanish
I promise, it’s just a matter of time

Enjoy!

4 responses to “Start Wearing Purple – Gogol Bordello

  1. Yay! A band I haven’t heard of! I love exploring new (to me) music.

    I can’t watch the video right now. I’ll have to do so later…but I’m looking forward to it.

    Let me know what you think. They have a couple of other videos on YouTube that are good.

  2. Pingback: Free Friday: Shipping Up to Boston « Lucid Lunacy

  3. I think that it has something to do with this poem… I remember my mom reading it to me when I was little…
    http://www.wheniamanoldwoman.com/pages/348544/index.htm

    That was nice, thanks.
    I think I read somewhere that purple is a popular color among older folk and it has something to do with how our eyes see the color as we age (which is supposed to explain purple hair on older women). I guess that might say something about me today, since I’m wearing a light purple shirt while I’m typing this.
    Thanks for the visit and comment.

  4. Okay, I finally watched the video. I LOVED it!! This is right up my alley…you know, kind of deranged.

    I could definitely hear the Punk influences in the music…which I loved. And, I have a feeling I will walking around the rest of the day singing, “Start wearing purrrrple”.

    (Oh, and oddly, I’m wearing a purple sweater today. Hmm…)

    It’s been in my head all week. In fact, I’m wearing a purple shirt today – crazy!

Leave a Reply

