A-Z Artists/Bands – Join in the Fun with Meme!

I happened across a version of this meme and decided to list a few of my favorite Artists/Bands from A-Z.

These aren’t necessarily my favorite songs by each of these artists, but I tried to find songs that were either well performed, unusual, or a version different from the one heard on the radio (yet, some are my favorite songs by that artist/band).  I’ve linked each artist/band to a YouTube video for your listening/viewing pleasure.

I would like to see your list, so be sure to link back if you decide to join in on the fun by creating your own list (no need to link to videos – that was just my way to kill some time on a day off).  Since the list is alphabetical, it seems that librarians and booksellers might find this enjoyable (no pressure Chartroose, Rebecca, Michael and Ann, and Stacy).  Of course, it is always good to hear from other friends as well.

Click on the artist or band to see and hear a song (be sure to check out Heart – it’s a great version of their song).  You might not recognize the names of all these artists, so click on their name to discover who they are:

Enjoy!

13 responses to “A-Z Artists/Bands – Join in the Fun with Meme!

  1. I haven’t clicked on any of your links yet, but just wanted to give you a big Thank You for listing Jethro Tull under “j” and not “t”!

    I would have also put Uriah Heep under U, but it’s hard to trump U2.

  2. Yes, I will do this! Yay!

    I’m looking forward to seeing it.

  3. This will be a challenge. If there is a pair less into music than Jason and I it would be surprising. But I do love a challenge so I’ll see what I can come up with.

    You should at least like the Ohio State Marching Band (that alone gives you four options).

  4. leavingevangeline

    Yay! This will be fun. I will watch your videos, and hopefully I’ll have the time to do my own list!

    I’d love to see your list. I’m assuming it will be as 90s heavy as mine was with the 70s.

  5. I don’t think I could have filled some of the letters. Quite a number, actually.

    You are something of a futurist, you could come up with your favorite bands that haven’t yet been created.

  6. leavingevangeline

    Hmm..I dunno. I’m thinking I’m going to do all contemporary/up and coming artists.

    Why does Alice Cooper come up for the Funnier, Vincent? Am I missing something?

    LL: My problem is that I’m thinking of 3-4 bands per letter!

    Vincent Furnier is Alice Cooper’s real name. I also had trouble with too many artists/bands per letter, so I went with some real names – like Vincent (and Robert Zimmerman).

  7. Pingback: A-Z favorite music-Have fun with me(me) « Stacy’s Bookblog

  8. Okay, I did it. Sort of. http://stacybuckeye.wordpress.com/2008/11/26/a-z-favorite-music-have-fun-with-meme/
    Thanks for helping waste a lot of time while I’m trying to get ready to go home for Thanksgiving! It was fun.

    Thanks for playing along.

  9. Here’s mine, with a few overlaps. I look forward to checking out yours later in the weekend. Quite an eclectic list.

    I noticed you’re trying to keep up with all the places I’m moving on your sidebar. I only have two blogs that you really need to keep track of: unfinishedperson.com and unfinishedrambler.blogspot.com, if that makes it easier. Well, not “need” ;), but if you want to keep track. 🙂

    Great list. I noted Funkadelic (loved it), but not Parliament. What about that? Thanks for playing.

  10. I completed my list!! I took some liberties with my selection for the letter “L”. And, with one exception, I stuck with newer, lesser known artists!

    Hope you have a great Thanksgiving!

    How great! Almost all of your list is new to me. Have you ever heard of Ray LaMontagne? I hear he’s great. Some people like many of his songs. You should check him out.
    I hope you had a great Thanksgiving.

  11. Pingback: A-Z of Bands « A Brit in California

  12. Pingback: » A-Z Artists or Bands Ravings from the Shell

  13. Hardee har har. You are a funny one!

    (I’m off to check out that guy…what’s his name? Ray LaMontagne?)

    I’ve heard he’s great.

Leave a Reply

