Five for Friday – Great Christmas Songs

Our family enjoys Christmas music and we have it playing on our stereo from Thanksgiving to New Year’s Day, but these are the songs that (for various reasons) my wife won’t let me play during Christmas:

One of my all time favorites – David Bowie and Bing Crosby:

Bing (again), this time with White Christmas, which originated in the film Holiday Inn:

Karen Carpenter – an incredibly unique voice – singing Merry Christmas Darling:

Elvis – Blue Christmas (enough said):

Casting Crowns with Silent Night:

And a (Christmas) bonus – Relient K’s version of the 12 Days of Christmas:

Enjoy!

3 responses to “Five for Friday – Great Christmas Songs

  1. why are there rules governing the playing of these songs?! don’t leave us hanging…how can BING be banned??!?!

    My wife doesn’t like David Bowie (the sacrilege) and prefers the movie White Christmas to (in my opinion the far superior) Holiday Inn. She isn’t a fan of rock (including the King of Rock), so I only hear the other songs in the car. I was slightly misleading, because she does like the Carpenters (I just wanted to include that song because I like Karen Carpenter’s voice).

  2. Hahaha excellent. I love a bit of Christmas festive spirit!

    Glad to help.
    Thanks for the visit and comment.

  3. Hmm… you ever heard the Trans-Siberian Orchestra? Look up their song ‘Sarajevo,’ and others. That’s what I always listen to around Christmas. And, I admit, I have a soft spot for Celine Dion’s Christmas CD, but don’t tell anyone that.

    My wife actually likes Trans-Siberian and Manheim Steamroller, so we get to listen to them.
    Regarding Celine… nobody will hear it from me.
    I actually like a mix of Christmas standards and rock.

Leave a Reply

