Seven Things (you aren’t interested in knowing) about Me(me)

I’ve been tagged (by Michael at Books on the Nightstand) with this meme and you are the unfortunate recipient of Seven Random Things You Probably Don’t Know About Me:

1. I believe drinking coffee stunted my growth, because I started drinking coffee and quit growing when I was 15 years old (my stunted height is 6’7″ – imagine how tall I could have been).  Yes, you read that right – I’ve been 6’7″ tall since I was 15, which is great if I’m at a parade, but stinks if I’m buying clothes.

2. I moved out when I was 18 and have lived in 17 different apartments or houses since then (over the last 30 years).

3. During our first date, I knew my date and I would get married – we did, and are still married (going on 27 years).

4. I’m on my fourth career and in my 12th organization, but haven’t applied for a job in over 25 years (I obviously embrace change).

5. Although several of my relatives hold Master’s degrees, I’m the first person in my family’s history to earn a doctorate.

6. We moved to the last four cities we’ve lived in within 6 months of me stating, “I would never live in __________” (fill in blank with the name of the city we almost immediately moved to).

7. We’ve been in our current city for almost 15 years and I’ve been saying “I’ll never live in Hawaii or San Diego” the entire time – WHAT’S UP WITH THAT?

Now you know…

I’d like to hear from all of you, so you are all tagged!

The Rules:
1. Link to the person who tagged you.
2. Post the rules.
3. Write 7 random things about yourself.
4. Tag 7 people and link to their blogs.
5. Let each person know they were tagged by leaving a comment on their blog.
6. Let the tagger know when your entry has been published.

Enjoy!

10 responses to “Seven Things (you aren’t interested in knowing) about Me(me)

  1. A 6’7″ optimistic vagabond with a Ph.d….that’s cool

    Who’d of thought it possible?

  2. Cool! I’ll do this as soon as I’m finished with the fav bands meme.

    I’s a good thing you started drinking so young!

    That fav band thing was clear back in 2008. When are you going to finish?
    And I should have mentioned that one of my moves was to your fair city.

  3. Wow, so… don’t you think it would have been better if one of those jobs would have been with a moving company?

    I’ve been able to get out of much of the actual moving (much to the chagrin of my wife). Much of my life has been spent traveling, so I was often out of town when we moved (excellent planning on my part, if I do say so).

  4. Dr. Don, at an altitude of 6’7 🙂 , who has obviously read “Who Moved my Cheese”. BTW, I love coffee. I will take up the Tag seems a good one.

    Every time I see that book (Who Moved My Cheese) on a colleague’s bookshelf or desk, I grab a post-it note and write “I did” on it, then stick it to the cover of the book.

  5. A doctorate is impressive. I always knew you were a smarty 🙂 So, are your kids tall or did you start with coffee in their sippy cups?

    If I can come up with 7 things I’ll do this meme this weekend.

    They are young, but tall for their age. They are both in the 90th percentile for height (and 70th for weight). We’ll start on the coffee at 6′.

  6. “I’ve been able to get out of much of the actual moving (much to the chagrin of my wife). Much of my life has been spent traveling, so I was often out of town when we moved (excellent planning on my part, if I do say so).”

    Well then, it’s easy to see how all that education has paid off? Brilliant “move”.

    But costly in other ways – she likes pretty jewelry.

  7. Pingback: 7 Things You May Not Know About Me(me) « Stacy’s Bookblog

  8. Apparently my dad did not feel as though I provided a proper description of my 80 Camaro. Especially after you left your very guy-like description of your first car. Thanks a lot! 🙂

    Sorry, but I tried to tone it down. I didn’t describe the horsepower, transmission, or anything related to exhaust.

  9. It’s bad enough that I live down the street from you and see you on a weekly basis, now I have to learn all this other stuff about you. Although I knew you were 6’7! :o) (I know…I need to get my own blog).

    No kidding. And have dinner with the fams almost weekly. I know, TMI. Sorry.

Leave a Reply

