Five for Friday – Favorite Internet Timewasters

It’s Saturday… which means Five for Friday is a day late (and several dollars short – you know, the economy and all). 

I spend much of my day online as I do a variety of work-related tasks (primarily communicating through email, reading articles, and researching for courses I teach), but now and then I need a break.  That’s when I go to my favorite Internet sites to waste time:

WordPress– that’s right.  I’m here now (obviously).  I have really enjoyed getting to know you (well, those of you who comment or write one of the blogs I frequent) through this blogging community.  Thanks for your encouraging comments and your interesting blogs.  I don’t comment as often as I should, but I do read.

Facebook.  Much less anonymous than blogging, but I’ve had people find me who I haven’t heard from in years.  I really hadn’t much interest in Facebook, but was receiving referrals to this blog from a Facebook site and wanted to see who it was.  I was required to join, so did so, then began to be found by people from my past.  It’s been fun to reconnect.  I also have four or five timewasters on Facebook alone (like Speedracing and Might of Many – my nerd games, as my wife likes to call them).

Yahoo Fantasy.  I like fantasy baseball and football.  Several of my friends and I form a league and play against each other each year.  I also enter two or three public leagues.  My favorite part of managing a fantasy team is picking up and cutting players, so although I don’t always win the league, I do usually lead in the number of players I go through during a season.

YouTube.  I like it primarily for the music videos, but there are some amazing things to be found.

FreeRice.  Build your vocabulary and feed people at the same time.  How can you go wrong?

monkey-typing-2

Enjoy!

3 responses to “Five for Friday – Favorite Internet Timewasters

  1. Aw man! Now I have to bookmark another fun site! That FreeRice is cool! And I thought my vocabulary was already pretty cool…there were some words I’ve never heard of before. As for the other ones, Facebook and YouTube are already major timewasters for me! And my bloglines account!

    I like FreeRice – it’s a worthwhile learning tool.

  2. Another great charity site is AIDtoCHILDREN.com. It donates money to children in need through World Vision.

    Check it out at http://www.aidtochildren.com

    Thanks. I didn’t know about this one. Our campus is just a few blocks from the Monrovia office of World Vision.
    Thanks for visiting and thanks for the great tip.

  3. I just tried FreeRice. It’s pretty addicting. Thanks for showing me another time consumer 🙂

    Brian sent this one along also (it’s similar to FreeRice): http://www.aidtochildren.com

Leave a Reply

