100 One Hit Wonders of the 80’s (by VH1)

The VH1 Blog has listed the “100 Greatest One Hit Wonders of the 80s.”  After reading the list, I’m thinking it’s a stretch to call them all hits.  Some are great, though.  See what you think:

Here’s #1 – Come on Eileen by Dexy’s Midnight Runners

Here’s the entire list (in VH1’s rank order):

1 Dexy’s Midnight Runners: “Come on Eileen”
2 Flock of Seagulls: “I Ran (So Far Away)”
3 A-Ha: “Take On Me”
4 Tommy Tutone: “867-5309 / Jenny”
5 Soft Cell: “Tainted Love”
6 Toni Basil: “Mickey”
7 Modern English: “I Melt With You”
8 Bow Wow Wow: “I Want Candy”
9 Kajagoogoo: “Too Shy”
10 Frankie Goes to Hollywood: “Relax”
11 Gary Numan: “Cars”
12 Animotion: “Obsesssion”
13 Thomas Dolby: “She Blinded Me With Science”
14 Big Country: “In A Big Country”
15 Devo: “Whip It”
16 Nena: “99 Luft Balloons”
17 Men Without Hats: “The Safety Dance”
18 Rob Base & DJ E-Z Rock: “It Takes Two”
19 Dead or Alive: “You Spin Me Round (Like a Record)”
20 Rockwell: “Somebody’s Watching Me”
21 Twisted Sister: “We’re Not Gonna Take It”
22 Michael Sembello: “Maniac”
23 Eddy Grant: “Electric Avenue”
24 Edie Brickell & New Bohemians: “What I Am”
25 Musical Youth: “Pass the Dutchie”

26 Cutting Crew: “I Just Died In Your Arms”
27 Stacey Q: “Two of Hearts”
28 John Parr: “St. Elmos Fire (Man In Motion)”
29 Madness: “Our House”
30 The Vapors: “Turning Japanese”
31 Bobby McFerrin: “Don’t Worry Be Happy”
32 Quarterflash: “Harden My Heart”
33 John Waite: “Missing You”
34 The Waitresses: “I Know What Boys Like”
35 Tom Tom Club: “Genius of Love”
36 Weather Girls: “It’s Raining Men”
37 Lipps, Inc.: “Funkytown”
38 Bruce Willis: “Respect Yourself”
39 Matthew Wilder: “Break My Stride”
40 The Buggles: “Video Killed the Radio Star”
41 Billy Vera “At This Moment”
42 Timbuk 3 “The Future’s So Bright, I Gotta Wear Shades”
43 Shannon “Let the Music Play”
44 Wall of Voodoo “Mexican Radio”
45 Robbie Nevil “C’est La Vie”
46 Georgia Satellites “Keep Your Hands To Yourself”
47 Pretty Poison “Catch Me I’m Falling”
48 Yello “Oh Yeah”
49 Philip Bailey (w/ Phil Collins) “Easy Lover”
50 Neneh Cherry “Buffalo Stance”
51 After the Fire “Der Kommissar”
52 Mary Jane Girls “In My House”
53 Taco “Puttin’ On the Ritz”
54 Chris DeBurgh “Lady in Red”
55 Johnny Kemp “Just Got Paid”
56 Til Tuesday “Voices Carry”
57 Jermaine Stewart “We Don’t Have to Take Our Clothes Off”
58 Don Johnson “Heartbeat”
59 The Outfield “Your Love”
60 Nu Shooz “I Can’t Wait”
61 E.U.: “Da Butt”
62 XTC: “Dear God”

63 Oran “Juice” Jones: “The Rain”
64 Robbie Dupree: “Steal Away”
65 Boomtown Rats: “I Don’t Like Mondays”
66 The Jeff Healy Band: “Angel Eyes”
67 Martika: “Toy Soldiers”
68 Peter Schilling: “Major Tom”
69 T’Pau: “Heart And Soul”
70 Harold Faltermeyer: “Axel F”
71 Jack Wagner: “All I Need”
72 Swing Out Sister: “Breakout”
73 Paul Hardcastle: “19″
74 Information Society: “What’s On Your Mind (Pure Energy)”
75 Bertie Higgins: “Key Largo”
76 J.J. Fad: “Supersonic”
77 General Public: “Tenderness”
78 Aldo Nova: “Fantasy”
79 Alannah Myles: “Black Velvet”
80 Eddie Murphy: “Party All The Time”
81 Josie Cotton: “Johnny Are You Queer?”
82 Red Rider: “Lunatic Fringe”
83 Paul Lekakis: “Boom Boom Boom Let’s Go Back to My Room”
84 The Church: “Under The Milky Way”
85 Ziggy Marley And The Melody Makers: “Tomorrow People”
86 Patrice Rushen: “Forget Me Nots”
87 Vixen: “Edge Of A Broken Heart”
88 Nik Kershaw: “Wouldn’t it Be Good”
89 Rodney Dangerfield: “Rappin’ Rodney”
90 Haircut 100: “Love Plus One”
91 Gloria Loring & Carl Anderson: “Friends And Lovers”
92 Frank Stallone: “Far From Over”
93 L.A. Guns: “The Ballad of Jayne”
94 Club Nouveau: “Lean On Me”
95 Midnight Oil: “Beds are Burning”
96 The Fabulous Thunderbirds: “Tuff Enuff”
97 Will To Power: “Baby I Love Your Way / Freebird”
98 Buckner & Garcia: “Pac-Man Fever”
99 Michael Damian: “Rock On”
100 Clarence Clemons (and Jackson Browne): “You’re A Friend Of Mine”

I’m hoping Alphainventions will like this.

Enjoy!

14 responses to “100 One Hit Wonders of the 80’s (by VH1)

  1. Eddy Grant and Madness has a number of hits … Hmmn.

    However, being of a certain age, I’ll thank you for that pretty gruesome trip down memory lane!

    Bestest.

    😎

    I’m glad you enjoyed(?) the memorable trip (some memories are good, some… not so good). Yes, some of these are a stretch. Thanks for visiting and commenting.

  2. I, too, wonder about the number of hits certain groups had. I also thought Madness and Modern English had more hits. Being the 80’s music buff that I am, this is a cool list. I was singing each one as I went down the list – I enjoyed it.

    I’m glad you enjoyed it. I found myself singing through the list too.

  3. Weren’t the 80’s all one hit wonders! lol

    It seems like it, but there were also some great artists and bands that had more than one hit. It seemed (at least to me) that the 80’s blew by pretty quickly.
    Thanks for visiting and commenting.

  4. same with Chris deBurgh (- he had more hits in Australia at least (gotta love ‘Don’t Pay the Ferryman’ lol)

    Yes, an American list. We tend to forget that there are others in this world (until it’s time for the Oscars).

  5. gah! and Midnight Oil (sorry shoulda read the list properly the first time!0 but I spose if it is a US based list…..

    Midnight Oil were HUGE in Australia.

    Midnight Oil was big here too. I believe the list to be a bit suspect.

  6. I only knew 11 of those bands! My favorite song out of the ones I knew was turning Japanese, by the Vapors. I think it’s funny.

    Funnier than you know.

  7. I didn’t know Eddie Murphy was a one-hit-wonder in the 80’s!

    I’m not sure he knows it either.

  8. I loved this list however, it was painful listening to Tanya sing through the list. Having grown up elsewhere, some of these songs were not even remotely familar, others are from bands that had more than one hit like Madness, Eddy Grant, Chris deBurgh. Some of them cannot be considered hits so the bands are actually no hit wonders. Thanks for sharing!

    Thanks for reading and commenting.

  9. Pingback: One Hit Wonders « A Brit in California

  10. leavingevangeline

    VH-1 ran this special last weekend…I think…maybe the one before. Anyhow…I had it on all day. I have to say that I pretty much love every single song on the list!!

    They interviewed a lot of the former artists, and it’s so weird/interesting to see someone that had a major brush with fame…now being an average person.

    I’ve always been fascinated with those who enjoyed a brief brush with fame, then had to become as “normal” as the rest of us. Some handle it well, others don’t.

  11. My favorite on the list: “Heart and Soul” by T’pau !

  12. Weather Beaten Old Windbag

    Have you ever really listened to Dexy’s ‘Come on Eileen’ the lyrics are ‘interesting’!!

    Maybe that’s why they are on a “one hit” list?

  13. Is there any person on this world who can let me know the artist and song of a videoclip I have in my memorie but where I do not know the artist or name of the song. I only know that it was a one-day hit somewhere between 1980 and 2000. I can describe the videoclib however which was a lady with blond hair singing from outer space (on a planet or star) and looking directly into the camera which was zooming in and out also out space. In my memorie she had a red roze and white dress. It was not a group and it was a very intens I think love song (populair music, not hardrock, classic or ). I am looking for more then a year know and cannot find. Probably it was not a number 1 hit because I searched all kind of top-100 out of that time but still could not find the song I am looking for. Please could anyone who recognizes this let me know?

  14. patrick marrone

    i thought your list was great i really enjoyed it i will be back

    Thanks for the visit and the comment.

Leave a Reply

